Alex Ikot was born in Equatorial Guinea in a musical environment, in which he began developing his talents & ability at a very early age as a drummer and percussionist. His tenacity & dedication has taken him to collaborate  with different groups in a number of countries in Africa, Europe, America & Asia; achieving great versatility yet without abandoning his African rhythmic roots, in which he has been able to fit in almost any style (jazz, flamenco, Latin rhythms, etc.). His work is reflected in various facets: as studio musician he has collaborated with different artists from various countries; as teacher; composer, and as endorser in Spain of the make of drum kits “Sonor” and cymbals “Istanbul”. He has now formed his own band, Papa Ikot Band, where he displays his particular concept of AfroFlamenco, AfroPop & AfroJazz.

His professional career began in the Equatorial Guinea National Orchestra. A year later, he decided to try his luck in other countries, which took him to Nigeria (1975) where he played with Fela Kuti in Kalakuta Republic, with Felix Liberty …. and that year recorded the album titled Love is fair with the group “Black Children” and recorded as studio musician at EMI for a number of different artists.

Since then (from 1975-1985), he did not stop working in different bands in Cameroon, Ivory Coast & Senegal where he coincided with musicians such as Kanga Emile and his band Black Steel, Youssou NDour, Issa Cissocko, Salif Keita, Manu Dibango …. In Amsterdan (1996-1997) he formed part of the Afrobeat band Queen Sandy & The New World Band and the African Reggae Band Congo Banga.

Already now in Spain he has been a member of a number of different groups, such as Trópico de Cancer, Platino Band, Orquesta Pacific, Way Out, Afro Brass, and has played in the band La Boa, founded by Juan Pablo Silvestre, musician and presenter of the Radio 3 programme Mundo Babel, and also Cara Oscura (flamenco pop), founded by Kiko Veneno, La Banda Negra (flamenco pop), Malabo Street Band ……



Alex Ikot: Drums & vocals.
Isaac Esimi Nsue Onguene: Bass & vocals.
Jermias Ndong Edu Mezene: Keyboard & vocals.
Laguerre Cherubin Chandras: Electric guitar.
Nieves Manuela Oyana Obama: Vocalist.
Shella Ken Samuel: Vocalist.

Leave a comment

Heineken Gobierno de Canarias Islas Canarias Canarias cultura en red Cabildo de Gran Canaria Gran Canaria Ayuntamiento de Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Toda una ciudad Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Fundación Auditorio Teatro Las Palmas de Gran Canaria Auditorio Alfredo Kraus Teatro Pérez Galdós Cabildo de Tenerife Ayuntamiento de Santa Cruz de Tenerife Auditorio de Tenerife Teatro Leal Teatro Guiniguada Palacio de Formación y Congresos Fuerteventura Cabildo de Lanzarote Ayuntamiento de Arrecife Turismo de Arrecife Cabildo de La Palma Excmo. Ayto. de Los Llanos de Aridane Iltre. Ayuntamiento de la Villa de Santa Brígida Excmo. Ayuntamiento de Puerto de La Cruz Puerto de La Cruz Consorcio Rehabiltitación Puerto de La Cruz Ayuntamiento de Adeje Ayuntamiento de Adeje Happy Streets Casa África La Laguna Gran Hotel Hotel Taburiente AC Hotels Arrecife Gran Hotel Hotel Botánico Hotel El Mirador de Fuerteventura Hotel Tigotán Toyota Canarias Sonopluss Canarias

rolex submariner watches uk | rolex daytona watches | rolex submariner watches | rolex daytona watches | rolex milgauss watches | rolex datejust watches | replica watches uk | cheap fake rolex

© Copyright 2019
Canarias Jazz & Más Heineken